× Home About News People Institutions Apply Publications Presentations Contact
Participating Institutions

Click within the rectangles for a short description of the institutions or click on the logo areas to visit their website.

Texas A&M University (TAMU) has a lengthy history of bringing learning opportunities to students. TAMU houses a K150 and a K500 cyclotron, as well as a research reactor. The vibrant REU program at TAMU has routinely hosted 10-12 undergraduate students for ten weeks each summer (2020 excepted) since 2004. TAMU is also the home of CENTAUR, an NNSA center that broadens opportunities for students in low energy nuclear physics. TAMU’s undergraduate student body includes 25% Hispanic students, as of fall 2020.

Prairie View A&M University (PVAMU) is one of Texas's two land-grant universities and the second oldest public institution of higher learning in the state with a HBCU designation . PVAMU is the second largest HBCU in the state of Texas and the sixth largest HBCU in the United States. PVAMU is part of the Texas Physics Consortium (TPC), eight Texas institutions that together offer a joint Bachelor of Science degree in Physics, accredited by SACSCOC. The major goals of the department of physics are to provide a firm foundation in physics for students pursuing careers in several disciplines such as biology, chemistry, computer science, pre-medical, pre-dentistry, engineering, mathematics, and science teachers. We teach, through our physics program, more than 1,200 students per semester in various physics/physical science courses and nearly 90% of them are underrepresented minority students from various disciplines.

The University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) is an HSI in El Paso, TX, with 140 physics majors. Several of these UTEP students have participated in the TAMU REU program over the years. Prof. Jorge Muñoz is an Assistant Professor of Physics with expertise in Machine Learning. UTEP is a natural partner to enhance the representation of Hispanic students that are introduced to isotope production science. UTEP also offers a program of courses and research leading to a master’s degree in Physics.

Texas A&M University’s Higher Education Center (HECM) in McAllen, Texas opened in fall 2017. It currently has a small population, with about 540 students admitted in the first three years: 93% are Hispanic and 59% are first generation college students.

Texas Lutheran University (TLU) is a designated Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI), geographically located in Seguin, a semi-rural south-central Texas town with a population of just over 29,000, and is a nationally recognized, private liberal arts university with a student population of approximately 1400 students. The student population is 40% Hispanic. More than half of the students are first-generation college students. TLU Physics has about 40-50 declared majors all of whom are required to successfully complete a year-long meaningful research project that culminates in a senior thesis which is presented to the faculty and students to graduate. This dynamic physics program graduates 5-6 students per year, which is about five times the average for a school of its size. They are also above average in the percentage of physics degrees that go to women and under-represented minority (URM) students.

Supported by DE-SC0022469

Home Apply Presentations
About People Publications
News Institutions contact