Summer 2017 Program

The Texas A&M Cyclotron Institute, in conjunction with the National Science Foundation, is serving as a Research Experiences for Undergraduates site during the summer of 2017.

This REU site focuses on research in nuclear physics and nuclear chemistry. Students will have the opportunity to work closely with internationally renowned scientists at a major university-based nuclear facility.

Undergraduates will gain research experience by carrying out specific projects under the direct supervision of Physics/Chmistry faculty at the Cyclotron Institute. Weekly discussions on forefront areas of Nuclear Physics/Nuclear Chemistry will be led by Institute faculty. Students will have the opportunity to share their work via an oral presentation and virtual poster session.

2017 REU Group

Participating Students
(students listed alphabetically with school and mentor also provided)

Bassam Aboona
Bassam Aboona / Middle Tennessee State University / Dr. Jeremy Holt
"Toward Microscopic Equations of State for Core-Collapse Supernovae from Chiral Effective Field Theory"    
(poster/ presentation / abstract)

Justin Bryant
Justin Bryant / University of Central Arkansas / Dr. John Hardy
"Precise Measurement of αK for the 39.76-keV E3 transition in 103Rh: Further Test of Internal Conversion Theory "
(poster / presentation / abstract)

Emily Churchman
Emily Churchman / Texas Lutheran University / Dr. Sherry Yennello
"Characterization of ParTI Phoswiches with the Use of Charged Pion Beams "
(poster / presentation / abstract)

Hayden Fowler
Hayden Fowler / University of Alabama-Huntsville / Dr. Greg Chubaryan
"Heavy Ion Guide Gas Handling System: Calculations and Execution "
(poster / presentation / abstract)

Etienne Gilg
Etienne Gilg / Ecole Nationale Superieure D'Ingenieurs De Caen & Centre De Recherche / Dr. Dan Melconian

Ashleigh Keeler
Ashleigh Keeler / Texas A&M University / Dr. Sherry Yennello
"Calibration of a Fusion Experiment to Investigate the Nuclear Caloric Curve"
(poster / presentation / abstract)

Carlos Marquez
Carlos Marquez / San Diego State University / Dr. Dan Melconian
"Ion Excitation of Stable Isotopes with TAMU Trap"
(poster / presentation / abstract)

Mallory McCarthy
Mallory McCarthy / Texas A&M University / Dr. Sherry Yennello

Adriana Moya
Adriana Moya / Arizona State University / Dr. Grigory Rogachev
"Improved Pulse-Shape Discrimination Method Using Two Photomultipliers and P-terphenyl”"

Matthew Nickel
Matthew Nickel / University of Dallas / Dr. Rainer Fries
"Event-by-Event Simulations of Early Gluon Fields in High Energy Nuclear Collisions"
(poster / presentation / abstract)

Thomas Onyango
Thomas Onyango / University of North Texas / Dr. Ralf Rapp
"Comprehensive Parameterization of the ρ-Meson Spectral Function in Hot and Dense Matter"
(poster / presentation / abstract)

Colby Ostberg
Colby Ostberg / San Francisco State University / Dr. Saskia Mioduszewski
"Subtracting the Underlying-Event Energy in Reconstructed Jets in √(S_NN ) = 200 GeV Proton+Proton Collisions at STAR "
(poster / presentation / abstract)

Yasmin Pajouhafsar
Yasmin Pajouhafsar / Texas A&M University / Dr. Sherry Yennello
"Particle Induced X-Ray Emission Experiment Using the K150 3.4 MeV Proton Beam at TAMU Cyclotron Institute"

Rebekah Roundey
Rebekah Roundey / Hillsdale College / Dr. Brian Roeder
"Production of Radioactive Beams on the Proton Dripline Using MARS at Texas A&M "
(poster / presentation / abstract)

Jacqueline Van Slycke
Jacqueline Van Slycke / Siena College / Dr. Greg Christian
"Utilizing Machine Learning for Analysis of TIARA for Texas "

Samantha Wigley
Samantha Wigley / The College of Wooster / Dr. Cody Folden
"Non-Destructive Analysis of Natural Uranium Pellet "



Copyright Cyclotron Institute 2022