Summer 2012 Program

The Texas A&M Cyclotron Institute, in conjunction with the National Science Foundation, is serving as a Research Experiences for Undergraduates site during the summer of 2012.

This REU site focuses on research in nuclear physics and nuclear chemistry. Students will have the opportunity to work closely with internationally renowned scientists at a major university-based nuclear facility.

Undergraduates will gain research experience by carrying out specific projects under the direct supervision of Physics/Chmistry faculty at the Cyclotron Institute. Weekly discussions on forefront areas of Nuclear Physics/Nuclear Chemistry will be led by Institute faculty. Students will have the opportunity to share their work via an oral presentation and virtual poster session.


2012 REU Group

Participating Students
(students listed alphabetically with school and mentor also provided)


Brittany Abromeit / Michigan State University / Prof. Sherry Yennello
"Phoswich Array for Sub-Fermi Energy Heavy Ion Reaction Dynamics"    
(poster/ presentation)

Michael DeVanzo / Towson University / Prof. Cody Folden
"Optimization of the Extraction Efficiency of a Gas Stopper using a 228Th source "
(poster / presentation)

Natalie Foley/ Hillsdale College / Prof. Dan Melconian
"Ion Cooler for the TAMUTRAP Facility"
(poster / presentation)

Rodolfo Gonzalez / University of Texas at El Paso / Prof. Ralf Rapp
"Spectral Medium Effects on Hadronic Densities "
(poster / presentation)

Molly Maguire / Reed College / Prof. John Hardy
"Measurement of the Internal Conversion Coefficient of 119Sn Isomer"
(poster / presentation)

William McGrew / Juniata College /Prof. Dave Youngblood
"Giant Monopole Resonances in Unstable Nuclei "
(poster / presentation)

Travis Salzillo / Tarleton State University / Prof. Rainer Fries
"Monte Carlo Simulation of Partons and Gluon Fields in Ultra-relativistic Heavy Ion Collisions"
(poster / presentation)

Allen Starke / Florida A&M University / Dr. Henry Clark
" Automated Gas Distribution System"
(poster / presentation)



Copyright Cyclotron Institute 2022