50 Years Symposium and Celebration

50 Years Invitation

Throughout 2017, the Cyclotron Institute celebrated 50 years of beam on target.  This culminated with a symposium held November 15-17, 2017 on the campus of Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas, USA.


Thank you to everyone who participated in the symposium, the banquet, and the recognition events!

Our symposium has been covered by The Eagle, The Battalion, and the College of Science. Photos from the event are now available. A video on the 50 years of beam is available in normal and extended lengths, as well as a video about the Institute itself.

The conference photo has been posted.

Read the letter from the DOE Associate Director of the Office of Science for Nuclear Physics, Timothy J. Hallman, regarding the 50 years of beam at the Cyclotron Institute.

Scientific Program

The title of the symposium was Exploring the Nuclear Frontier: 50 Years of Beam.  The scientific program featured talks focusing on the research areas of current interest to the Cyclotron Institute:

  • Nuclear Structure, Reactions, and the Equation of State
  • Fundamental Symmetries
  • High-Energy Nuclear Physics
  • Applications of Cyclotron-Based Nuclear Science

In addition to the scientific program, we had historical talks given by former Cyclotron Institute directors, tours of the Cyclotron Institute, a banquet, and a barbecue.

Plenary Speakers

  • Gregory Allen, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Robert Charity, Washington University in St. Louis
  • John Hardy, Texas A&M University
  • Kai Hebeler, Technische Universität Darmstadt
  • Peter Jacobs, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Kenneth LaBel, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Remco Zegers, Michigan State University and National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory

Important Dates

  • February 2017: First Circular
  • July 2017: Second Circular
  • August 15, 2017: Abstracts Due
  • November 15-17, 2017: Technical Symposia

International Advisory Committee

  • Klaus Blaum, Max Planck Institute
  • Henry Clark, Texas A&M University
  • Charles Gale, McGill University
  • Brad Sherrill, Michigan State University and Facility for Rare Isotope Beams
  • Achim Schwenk, Technische Universität Darmstadt

Local Organizing Committee

  • Greg Christian
  • Cody Folden
  • Rainer Fries
  • Kris Hagel
  • Jeremy Holt
  • Yiu-Wing Lui
  • Dan Melconian
  • Grisha Rogachev