

Hotel Galvez & Spa, Galveston, Texas, USA May 13-18, 2018

Second Circular

Workshop website: <u>http://cyclotron.tamu.edu/sotancp4</u> Workshop email: <u>sotancp4@comp.tamu.edu</u>

General Information

The fourth international workshop on "State of the Art in Nuclear Cluster Physics" will be held at the <u>Hotel Galvez & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel</u> in Galveston, Texas, USA, during **May 13-18, 2018**. The previous workshops of the series were held in Strasbourg (2008), Brussels (2010), and Yokohama (2014). The workshop series is dedicated to review the present status and to discuss future prospects of nuclear cluster physics.

The early registration deadline is: 10 April, 2018 The late registration deadline is: 10 May, 2018 The hotel registration deadline is: 12 April, 2018

The workshop fee of \$400 for regular participants and \$200 for students must be paid via the website:

https://secure.touchnet.com/C21490_ustores/web/store_main.jsp?STOREID=444&FROMQRC ODE=true

using the 6 digit identifier received at the registration.

We cannot accept cash or check payments at the conference site.

Accommodation

A limited number of rooms have been reserved in <u>Hotel Galvez & Spa</u> for participants of the workshop. The rate for a single room is \$99/day, and for a double room it is \$129/day.

To make a reservation and receive the special rate granted to the workshop participants click on the link above or call (+1) 409-515-2154 and ask to book at Hotel Galvez in the "SOTANCP4" room block. For your convenience, we recommend that you stay in <u>Hotel Galvez</u>, where all of the workshop activities will take place.

Transportation

Transportation from the George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH) in Houston to the Hotel Galvez will be provided on Sunday May 13th, and from the Hotel to the IAH airport on Friday May 18th and Saturday May 19th at no extra cost for participants. Further information about the bus schedule will be provided in the third circular.

Topics of the workshop

- Cluster structure and many-body correlations in stable and unstable nuclei.
- Clustering aspects of nuclear reactions and resonances
- Alpha condensate and analogy with condensed matter approaches
- Role of tensor force in cluster physics and ab initio approaches
- Clustering in hypernuclei
- Nuclear fission, superheavy nuclei, and cluster decay
- Cluster physics and nuclear astrophysics
- Clustering in nuclear matter and neutron stars
- Clustering in hadron and atomic physics

Invited speakers

S. Adachi, Research Center for Nuclera Physics (RCNP), Osaka University, Japan

- M. Avila, Argonne National Laboratory, USA
- J. Bishop, University of Birmingham, UK
- S. Courtin, Strasbourg University, France
- J. deBoer, University of Notre Dame, USA
- D. Dell'Aquila, NSCL, Michigan State University, USA
- Y. Funaki, RIKEN, Japan
- L. Grigorenko, Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, Dubna, Russia
- M. Kimura, Hokkaido University, Japan
- K. Launey, Louisiana State University, USA
- R. Lazauskas, IPHC, Strasbourg, France
- M. Milin, University of Zagreb, Croatia
- T. Myo, Osaka Institute of Technology, Japan
- P. Navratil, TRIUMF, Canada
- T. Otsuka, RIKEN, Japan
- G. Roepke, University of Rostock, Germany
- P. Schuck, IN₂P₃-CNRS, Orsay, France
- B. Schuetrumpf, GSI / TU Darmstadt, Germany
- L. Sobotka, Washington University, USA
- A. Tumino, Kore University of Enna & INFN-LNS, Catania, Italy
- E. Vardaci, Napoli University, Italy
- V. Vasilevsky, Bogolyubov Institute for Theoretical Physics, Ukraine
- A. Volya, Florida State University, USA
- M. Wiescher, University of Notre Dame, USA

International Advisory Committee

C. Beck (IPHC/DRS Strasbourg, France) M. Dufour (IPHC Strasbourg, France) J.P. Draayer (Louisiana State U., USA) M. Freer (U. Birmingham, UK) H. Fynbo (U. Aarhus, Denmark) H. Horiuchi (RCNP, Osaka U., Japan) K. Kato (Hokkaido U., Japan) T. Kawabata (Kyoto U., Japan) M. Kimura (Hokkaido U., Japan) S. Kubono (RIKEN, Japan) M. Milin (U. of Zagreb, Croatia) A. Mukhamedzhanov (Texas A&M U., USA) T. Neff (GSI, Germany) N. Orr (LPC Caen, France) Z. Ren (Nanjing U., China) P. Schuck (IPN Orsay, France) E. Vardaci (U. Naples, Italy) T. Yamada (Kanto Gakuin U., Japan) M.V. Zhukov (Chalmers U., Sweden)

Local Organizing Committee

Cyclotron Institute, Texas A&M University M. Barbui, G. Christian, C. Folden, V.Z. Goldberg, J.W. Holt, D. Melconian, J. Natowitz, G.V. Rogachev (chair)